ARCHITECTURE + DESIGN

Established over 35 years ago in Montreal, COHESIO (formerly JBC Architectes) is an architecture and design firm characterized by its unique approach combining technical expertise and design within each project. COHESIO is renowned for its ability to design innovative architectural solutions for corporate, industrial, commercial and institutional projects thanks to its in-depth knowledge of complex buildings.

 

Our firm leads projects in Montreal's most prestigious buildings, and has developped strong knowledge on how to cope with the constraints of such projects. In addition to offering general services, COHESIO is renowned for its expertise in building envelope, in the design of controlled environments such as data centers, and in realty services aimed at real estate owners and property managers. 

COMPREHEND. DESIGN. BUILD.

Three words summarising the approach COHESIO uses to turn its clients’ vision into concrete projects.

Comprehend Our clients praise our ability to listen to and understand their true needs. Thus, our team of experts is able to develop concrete solutions with performance, aesthetics and cost optimization in mind. 

Design Using their technical expertise and creativity, our team design spaces made to perfectly address the constraints specific to each project, and to answer both the clients and the end users needs.

Build In addition to maintaining close collaboration between all the experts involved in a project, we rigourously supervise the construction site and the quality of all our projects. 

COMPREHEND. DESIGN. BUILD.

 

Current projects

2/3 and 4 Place Ville Marie

Started in April 2016 - 200,000 sq. ft.

Kashechewan school

COHESIO, in a consortium with STOA Architecture, has started the design and construction project for Kashechewan nation’s new elementary school, established in Northern Ontario. The new building, built on a different site than the current one, must respect future development plans that anticipate the relocation of both the school and the entire village on a new site within the coming years. This project of significant importance for the local community includes the construction of a new building formed with two aisles connected by a gateway. Footbridges built on both streets bordering the site will provide access to these aisles.

Since 2017

Confidential data center

Started in February 2019

COHESIO is replacing the windows and the Indiana limestone-clad envelope of this building located Place Ville Marie. The two entrances are also being redesigned. Built at the end of the 1950s, the building is in the heart of an area of outstanding patrimonial value in downtown Montreal. This significant project has required developing the most efficient and least intrusive protocol possible, to avoid disturbances for tenants and to limit costs while ensuring a fast project delivery.

COHESIOis currently working on the expansion of a data center located inside one of downtown Montreal’s most prestigious buildings. This complex project involves creating an additional level to the existing building and expanding by over 107.000 sq. ft. the current IT center. Three generators have been added to the data center, and 600 tons of coolant have been set up to ensure a smooth functioning. An architectural fence installed on the roof keeps the machinery hidden. 

EXPERTISE

COHESIO offers a complete range of professional services in architecture and interior design for commercial, industrial, realty and institutional projects of various scales.

We also provide tailored solutions to more specific challenges such as designing data centers and controlled/protected environments, maintaining and rehabilitating facades and managing property inventory.

Transformation de bâtiments

Building transformation

COHESIO has strong expertise in recycling, readapting and transforming buildings. Our interventions, guided by the willingness to respect the buillding's initial character, aim at meeting the needs of the new users as well as the budget and time constraints of our clients. 

© COHÉSIO Architecture 2020

© COHÉSIO Architecture 2020

 

ARCHITECTURE + DESIGN

Implantée à Montréal depuis plus de 35 ans, la firme d’architecture et de design COHÉSIO (anciennement JBC Architectes) se distingue par son approche de conception unique qui combine maîtrise technique et design au sein d’un même projet. Tant dans les domaines corporatifs, institutionnels, commerciaux et industriels, la firme s’illustre par sa capacité à concevoir des solutions architecturales novatrices grâce à sa connaissance en profondeur des bâtiments complexes.

 

La firme est particulièrement active au sein des plus prestigieux édifices du centre-ville de Montréal, et a su développer des stratégies éprouvées afin de faire face aux contraintes que cela représente. En plus de ses services généraux, COHÉSIO se distingue par ses expertises en enveloppe du bâtiment, en conception d'environnements contrôlés tels les centres de données, ou encore en services immobiliers à destination des propriétaires et gestionnaires d'actifs.

COMPRENDRE. CRÉER. BÂTIR.

Trois mots qui résument l'approche que COHÉSIO emploie pour traduire la vision de ses clients en réalisations concrètes.

Comprendre Nous sommes reconnus pour notre écoute et notre compréhension des besoins réels de nos clients. Ainsi, notre équipe de professionnels experts élabore des solutions concrètes dans un souci de performance, d'esthétique et d’optimisation des coûts. 

Créer Grâce à la maîtrise technique et la créativité dont notre équipe fait preuve, nous concevons des espaces parfaitement adaptés aux contraintes et spécificités de chaque projet, répondant aux besoins des clients comme des usagers. 

Bâtir En plus de maintenir une étroite collaboration entre tous les intervenants d'un projet, nous assurons le suivi rigoureux de chaque chantier et, ainsi, de la qualité de tous nos projets.

COMPRENDRE. CRÉER. BÂTIR.

 

PROJETS EN COURS

2/3 et 4 Place Ville Marie

Débuté en Avril 2016 - 200,000 pi. ca.

École primaire de Kashechewan

COHÉSIO, en consortium avec STOA Architecture, a débuté le projet de conception et construction de la nouvelle école primaire de la nation Kashechewan établie au nord de l'Ontario. Le nouvel édifice, bâti sur un site différent de celui que l'établissement scolaire occupe actuellement, doit s'inscrire dans le respect des développements futurs qui prévoient la relocalisation de l’école ainsi que de l’ensemble du village sur un nouveau site dans les années à venir. Ce projet d'importance majeure pour la communauté locale inclut la construction d'un bâtiment comportant deux ailes reliées par une passerelle. Des ponts piétons, bâtis sur chacune des deux rues qui bordent le site, en permettront l’accès. 

Depuis 2017

Centre de données confidentiel

Débuté en Février 2019

COHÉSIO réalise le remplacement complet du revêtement en pierre calcaire d’Indiana ainsi que des fenêtres de ce bâtiment situé place Ville Marie. Les deux entrées sont également repensées. Construit à la fin des années cinquante, cet édifice est au cœur d'un secteur de valeur patrimoniale exceptionnelle du centre-ville de Montréal. Représentant un défi d'envergure, ce projet a nécessité l'élaboration d'un protocole d’intervention le plus efficace et le moins intrusif possible afin de ne pas nuire aux locataires et de limiter les coûts tout en assurant un chantier rapide.

COHÉSIO réalise actuellement l’agrandissement d’un centre de données implanté au coeur d'un prestigieux bâtiment du centre-ville de Montréal. Ce projet complexe implique la création d’un étage supplémentaire au bâtiment existant et l’expansion sur plus de 107.000 pi. ca. du centre informatique actuel. Trois groupes électrogènes ont été ajoutés au centre de données, et 600 tonnes de refroidissement ont été mises en place pour assurer un fonctionnement sans faille. Des écrans architecturaux installés sur la plateforme de toit permettent de masquer l’installation visuellement.

EXPERTISE

COHÉSIO offre une gamme complète de services professionnels en architecture et design intérieur pour des projets commerciaux, industriels, immobiliers et institutionnels d’ampleurs variées.

Nous proposons également des solutions adaptées à des problématiques plus spécifiques, telles que la conception de centres de données et environnement contrôlés, l’entretien et la réfection de façades, et la gestion de parcs immobiliers.

Transformation de bâtiments

Transformation de bâtiments

COHÉSIO possède une expertise pointue en recyclage, réadaptation et transformation de bâtiments. Nos interventions, guidées par des principes de respect du caractère initial du bâtiment, visent à répondre à la fois aux besoins des nouveaux utilisateurs et aux impératifs de budget et d'échéancier de nos clients.